OPHELIA

By the dance company Carte Blanche

@ Fort Mason

April 4 - 14, 2013

A friend of ours advised us to take a closer look at this coming show.

 

 

He had the opportunity to see it, really loved it, found the sound track inspired and inspiring... he simply wanted to share his experience with us. Thank you so much!

 

We love that kind of recommendations. We right away contacted Charline and Marie, the two foounders of the Company. Charline was kind enough to answer some of our questions. She tells you in a few words their nice story, Ophelia, their inspiration...

 

 

First of all, can you tell us a little bit about the company and its history.

 

Marie Plouviez and myself founded  Carte Blanche a year ago. We met each other in streets of San Francisco, an we knew right away that we wanted to work together. We are both French theater projessionals, and founding our own theater company together was an obvious first step.

Starting a theater company here in San Francisco came from an artistic will to create a cultural fusion between our home country and the States.

 

Ophelia? How did you get inspired?

 

Ophelia came to us relatively late in the creative process. I wanted to write a show about my immigration to the United States, and Marie had just left France. It was the perfect context for creating the story. Ophelia truly came to us through the work of the 19th century poet, Arthur Rimbaud, and then by Shakespeare, of course. She’s a character who became obvious to us throughout the creation process.

 

You know, during Shakespeare’s time, women were not allowed on stage, so the author’s would full-heartedly avoid writing feminine roles. Therefore, when Shakespeare wrote a feminine role, it was because he had no other choice: the character NEEDED to be a woman. It’s for that reason that the feminine characters are so strong and universal in the Shakespearean universe.

 

Our show tells the story of a strong woman, on a quest for her identity, a myth so universal that everyone can identify with. Marie Plouviez is an incredible actress who after finishing her studies at the French National Theater School, has brought a fresh perspective and strength to the character which warrants such an adaptation.

 

 


 

 

 

Why did you choose to set the stage at Fort Mason Center?

 

When we started to write the show a year ago, we imagined it at Fort Mason Center. Even as we wrote and created our first version of the show in a small Japanese theater, we were dreaming of the ambiance of Fort Mason Center.

It’s a an extraordinary location. All of the old buildings surrounded by fog, the 3 piers with their view of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge… The idea of taking a beautiful stroll while using all of this space as a place for creation… it’s a dream come true!

 

 

What makes Ophelia a must-see show?

 

I think that was truly makes the difference with this show, is the fact that it is a walk through experience.

The audience will follow the performers across the Fort Mason Campus. They will embark on a great interactive journey, and I can tell you that there are more than a few surprises! It’s an experience that I feel is more of an adventure than a show. We’ve worked tirelessly to create a fusion between French social theater themes and the deus ex machina feeling of american productions.

 

 

We wish them as much as success (end even more) as they met for their former performances at NOHspace and The Garage.

 

And because we are in SF, because the show is taking place at Fort Mason, because it is from time to time outdoor... our best piece of advise... forget the dress code and dress appropriately.

 

 

 

OPHELIA

by Carte Blanche

@ Fort Mason

April 4,6,7,11,13 &14

To buy your tickets

 

To read more, visit the beautiful website of the Company Carte Blanche.

OPHELIA

Par la Compagnie de danse Carte Blanche

@ Fort Mason

Du 4 au 14 avril 2013

Un ami qui nous veut du bien a attiré notre attention sur ce spectacle pas comme les autres.

 

 

Il a eu l'occasion de le voir, a beaucoup aimé, a notamment trouvé la bande-son inpsirante et inspirée, alors il a eu envie de partager avec nous. Merci!

 

On adore ce genre de recommandations. On a directement contacté Charline et Marie, qui ont créé la Compagnie pour en savoir plus. Charline a eu la gentillesse de répondre à nos questions. Elles vous raconte en quelques mots la belle histoire de la Compagnie, leur Ophelia itinérante, leur coup de coeur pour San Francisco.

 

 

 

Tout d'abord, pouvez-vous nous présenter la compagnie et son histoire en quelques phrases?

 

Marie Plouviez et moi-même avons fondé la compagnie Carte Blanche il y a un an. Nous nous sommes rencontrées dans les rues de San Francisco, et nous avons tout de suite voulu travailler ensemble. Nous sommes toutes les deux françaises et professionnelles du spectacle vivant, et monter Carte Blanche ensemble s’est présenté comme une évidence. 

Monter la compagnie ici à San Francisco est venue d’une volonté artistique de fusion entre notre culture et notre pays d’accueil.



Ophelia... comment vous a-t-elle été inspirée?

 

Ophelia nous est venu relativement tard dans le processus de création. Je voulais écrire un spectacle sur mon immigration au Etats-Unis, et Marie venait juste de quitter la France. c’était le contexte parfait pour créer cette histoire. Ophelia est vraiment venue à nous, tout d’abord à travers le texte de Rimbaud, et ensuite par Shakespeare, bien sûr. C’est un personnage qui est devenu une évidence au fur et à mesure du processus de création.

 

Vous savez, à l’époque de Shakespeare, les femmes n’étaient pas autorisées sur scène, donc les auteurs évitaient au maximum d’écrire des rôles féminins. Alors, quand Shakespeare écrit un rôle féminin c’est qu’il n’a pas le choix: il FAUT que ça soit une femme. C’est pour cette raison que les personnages féminins sont si forts et universels dans l’univers shakespearien.

 

Notre spectacle raconte l’histoire d’une femme forte, en quête d’identité, dans laquelle tout le monde peut se retrouver parce que son mythe est universel. Marie Plouviez est une comédienne incroyable qui sort d’une école nationale de théatre, elle apporte un souffle et une puissance à ce personnage qui vaut le détour, je vous assure.

 

 

 


 

 

 

Si vous deviez expliquer le choix de Fort Mason, ce serait parce que...

 

Quand nous avons commencé à écrire le spectacle il y a un an, nous l’avons imaginé à fort Mason Center. Pour nous c’était l’endroit rêvé pour Ophelia.    

C’est un endroit assez extraordinaire. Tous ces vieux bâtiments encerclés par le brouillard, les 3 piers qui donnent une vue sur Alcatraz et le Golden Gate Bridge... L’idée de faire une belle ballade en utilisant tout cet espace comme lieu de création... c’est le pied!

 

 

Qu’est-ce qui fait d’Ophelia un spectacle à ne pas manquer?

 

Je trouve que ce qui fait vraiment la différence avec ce spectacle, c’est le côté itinérant.

Les spectateurs vont suivre les comédiennes à travers les bâtiments de Fort Mason Center. On les embarque dans une grande aventure interactive, et je peux vous dire qu’il y a pas mal de surprises!

C’est une experience que je ressens plus comme une aventure qu’un spectacle. Nous avons beaucoup travaillé sur les thèmes du théâtre populaire français et créé une fusion avec le côté deus ex machina des production américaines.

 

 

Pour finir, vous êtes 2 Françaises installées à SF depuis peu... Si vous aviez 5 adresses-conseils à partager: resto, shopping, flaneries, ballade, lieu de spectacle ou spectacle à venir...

 

1- Resto: Le Baobab dans la Mission!

2- Ballade: Muir woods!

3- Shopping: Haight street, où j’ai rencontré Marie!

4- Flanerie: Dolores Park

5- Spectacle: Fort Mason Center: Ophelia par Carte Blanche du 4 au 16 avril!!!

 

 

Nous leur souhaitons beaucoup de succès, comme pour leurs représentations passées, notamment à NOHspace et The Garage.

 

Et petit conseil pour finir... Nous sommes à SF, cela se passe à Fort Mason, parfois en extérieur... alors, habillez-vous chaudement.  On ne sait jamais.

 

 

 

 

OPHELIA

par Carte Blanche

@ Fort Mason

Les 4, 6,7, 11, 13 et 14 avril

Pour acheter vos billets

 

Pour en savoir plus, allez visiter le très joli site de la Compagnie Carte Blanche.